Business Travel Sucks

I’m in Poughkeepsie. Yeah, you read that right. Why am I so far from home? Shooting an interview tomorrow for a giant-company-that-shall-not-be-named, then racing back to Albany to catch the last flight home. If you haven’t been to Albany, as best I can tell, it’s a larger version of Binghamton. Yeah, exciting. And I don’t know who should be more offended by that statement, Binghamton for being used as a put down or Albany for being put down.

I also hate having adjoining rooms. Even in this lovely Marriott, the door between my room and the neighbor’s is doing a woefully inadequate job of drowning out his television. I can hear every word. He’s watching Deal or No Deal. Believe me, it’s my favorite too. I want to sleep soon, so you see my concern. My last experience with adjoining rooms, in NJ, was marred by a handful of screaming children who stayed up well past 1:00 am. It’s not like I was going to a funeral the next day. Oh wait, I was. On xmas eve. Fuckers.

On the plus side, I saw a church along the side of I87 with its steeple lit by neon blue, then purple, then green, then pink, then back to blue. Making it even cooler, the radio (which didn’t have an aux input for the ipod) was playing Fooling Yourself by Styx, specifically the trippy intro with the overdone synthesizer. Yeah, weird.

“How can you be such an angry young man
When your future looks quite bright to me
How can there be such a sinister plan
That could hide such a lamb, such a caring young man”

One response to “Business Travel Sucks

  1. Pingback: So This Is The Midwest… «

Leave a Reply

