Bar Update

Here is the new bar in my office. It’s not quite done – the sink needs to be installed and the 58″ plasma needs to be hung.  It’s over 12′ tall.
the office bar

10 responses to “Bar Update

  1. Impressive. Who will serve the drinks? Are you going to have a full time bar tender?

  2. breathlessmini

    I’ll volunteer to tend bar. I make a mean L.I.T.

  3. No barkeep necessary…at least until we get to 40 employees. And I think a liquor license would complicate matters. There is no room for kegs or taps…though the CocaCola cooler on the right edge of frame is stocked with a variety of bottled beer.

    This makes us look like an alcoholic company, but we’re really not – nobody drinks before lunch.

  4. When I look at the bar I can’t help but wonder why have a bar when there is no serving person?

    To me bars are all about separation of us and them. A barrier between the servers and the patrons.

    I guess it’s a venue for people to watch TV (sports probably) in an uncomfortable position.

    Why not have a side board with drinks and a fridge. Put in some sofas, low tables and perhaps a pool table for the people who would rather interact than watch TV.

    Bars are only good for small conversations (optimum of three) because of the linear shape of the bar which always leaves some people at the end and way from what is being said.

    What sort business do you work in. I hope it’s not advertising because your guy in charge doesn’t seem to understand communication.

  5. Hmm, interesting point. No, we’re not in advertising. We make films and animations.

    The bar serves a few purposes. The picture doesn’t show the full kitchen to the right which has a large island where we eat lunch. It’s long and narrow, though people can sit on both sides. I will miss that interaction if we move over to eating lunch at the bar.

    I’m not a fan of hanging out in real bars for the reason you mentioned – conversation is limited and the noise and/or smoke is enough to keep me away.

    This project had to make use of the space. The floor area is much longer than wide, and the new seating area couldn’t extend beyond the halfway point. There are also couches just below the frame of the photograph.

    It’s not going to be used as a place for business communication (at least I don’t think so) and I suspect it will get more use on the nights and weekends (we all have keys for 24 hour access).

    You make a good point though – it’s not conducive to communication. And without a bartender, perhaps it’s a ship on autopilot. I just read somewhere, maybe it was your blog, about the different customs of paying with cash. In America, it’s almost rude to put your money on the counter rather than someone’s hand – it’s sort of dehumanizing. Whereas in Europe, the custom is to place the money on the counter and treat the whole transaction as just that – a transaction – one person performing a service for another.

    When I was a waiter during school (I was pretty good), I resented customers who looked down on me or treated me like a personal servant…but, that’s basically what I was employed to do.

  6. “I just read somewhere, maybe it was your blog, ”

    Nope, not mine.

    “about the different customs of paying with cash. In America, it’s almost rude to put your money on the counter rather than someone’s hand – it’s sort of dehumanizing.”

    It’s the same here. Us Aussies like to think of ourselves as egalitarian and it’s considered bad form to lord over anyone.

    “When I was a waiter during school (I was pretty good), I resented customers who looked down on me or treated me like a personal servant”

    I’ve also waited on tables and I know what you mean. Most people I served were nice but of course, every now and again (not often) one meets some jerk who wants to make up for their low self esteem buy trying to belittle wait staff.

    One of my parent’s friends was an absolute Tartar when he was in restaurants. I was with him once when he started to berate the staff and embarrass us all so I told him “to pull his head in”, in front of the waitress.

    He sure didn’t like that and we developed a deep dislike for each other from that point on.

  7. I absolutely believe you can tell quite a lot about someone’s character by the way they treat waiters. Major indicator of asshole qualities.

  8. are you fucking serious? If your’e fucking serious, you’re a total asshole.

  9. the bar in the office thing, not the manhandling of waitstaff.

  10. Really fucking serious. My office is sick – renovated civil war warehouse. I’ll try to get more pictures.

Leave a Reply

