If God controls the land and disease, keeps a watchful eye on me, If he’s really so damn mighty, my problem is I can’t see, Who would wanna be such a control freak?

I’ve gotten into another discussion on religion. The comments are worth reading.

{Dr. Geoffrey – Darwin Loves You}

4 responses to “If God controls the land and disease, keeps a watchful eye on me, If he’s really so damn mighty, my problem is I can’t see, Who would wanna be such a control freak?

  1. God is not a control freak, we have free will, god gave the devil some power, but jesus broke that power of sin on the cross. We will have a new world one day ,i dont think god wants mindless obeying robots he wants grateful forgiven free will children, maybe he was lonely up there.

  2. To paraphrase the Epicurean riddle:

    Either God wants to abolish evil, and cannot; Or he can, but does not want to; Or he cannot and does not want to.

    If he wants to, but cannot, he is impotent. If he can, but does not want to, he is wicked.

    But, if God both can and wants to abolish evil, then how come evil is in the world?

  3. when Eve bit the apple we then feel under this knowledge of good and evil thing. Evil is here to point us to jesus, and our need for help from our sinful nature. God will make it all right when he returns, he is in a process of growing us.

  4. No answer for you, Razz. Though I guess that’s why it’s called a riddle.

    Tricia – As you’ve probably figured out, you and I share different views on the matter. I’m certainly not one to decry another’s faith as being somehow wrong, but, in the case of Dr. Geoffrey (the link in the post), I did object to his wholesale assessment of people who believe in evolution being unhappy because there is no god. He was projecting his prejudices on people he didn’t know, and that pissed me off.

    Everyone is free to believe whatever they’d like, and to express their belief, up and until they start stepping on those who disagree. That’s why I had to open my big mouth and start something.

Leave a Reply

