Polarized.

I stand in the kitchen, cutting my organic apple into neat and tidy quarters. An old homeless man walks by the window, no more than 10 feet from where I stand. His beard is grey and dirty, clothes mismatched and worn, but his head is held high and he looks quite alert as he walks along the sunny sidewalk.

I put the knife back in the block and head upstairs to eat my snack in front of several thousand dollars worth of computer gear. It’s a strange world.

4 responses to “Polarized.

  1. I love those moments because only people with real feelings and awareness actually register it and register the flip flop in lives.

  2. One cold night when I was downtown I saw an extremely dirty and quite young guy going through a garbage can and picking things out and eating them.

    I walked up to him pulling out a $5 bill and said to him, “here take this and go and get yourself something to eat”.

    He remained stooped over the can but turned his head and glared at me as he snatched the money from my hand and quickly jammed it into his pocket. Without a word he went back to picking food out of the garbage can.

    The really sad thing is that many homeless people are mentally ill and the faceless bean counters and policy makers in the government can’t see a way to help them.

    One would think that so-called Christians in power (not the genuinely decent people like the Salvation Army) such as Bush and our ex-prime minister Howard would have some compassion and help those who can’t, through illness, help themselves.

    It would seem to such people that giving tax cuts to the rich and stealing oil is more of a Christian pursuit.

  3. I’ve been in similar situations as you describe, and felt as strange about it. So far, I’ve been on your side of the window, but who knows what tomorrow may bring.

  4. It’s really hard for me to look once and forget – those moments tend to roll around upstairs for a while. I think about the choices that brought me here, and took him there.

    Razz – The situation here is much the same. A startlingly high percentage have been evicted from closing state mental health facilities due to lack of funding. It’s one of the many horrible things which most people are aware of, yet pretend didn’t happen at all.

Leave a Reply

