And though I’ll never forget your face, sometimes I can’t remember my own name.

Weekend Roundup – quick style.

Friday: dinner at our favorite mexican place, ended up meeting with three coworkers who had driven the 20 miles from Raleigh. Shared a half pitcher of margaritas with the wife (I had to drive) and talked with the work-friends over delicious mexican fare until it got too cold on the patio.

Saturday: Took care of a bunch of minor stuff around the house. Spent $80 on fresh produce at the market, then washed and prepared everything. Got fresh (still warm) corn tortillas, Karen made bean-cheese-corn quesadillas with our homemade salsa. Yum, though I decided I just don’t like corn tortillas as much as flour. Sorry, corn. Also made a pitcher of margaritas, intent on making the perfect drink at home. After realizing the sour mix was the key issue, I did some research. Store bought mix is food coloring and high fructose corn syrup…and way too sweet for our needs. Made my own sour mix (boil water and sugar, then add lemon juice – I did 4:3:3 for less sweet, more tart) which was the difference. Add in the tequila, grand marnier, and the juice of a fresh lime and you’ve got the perfect, basic margarita. Got a little buzzed and watched Roman Holiday while Karen passed out. Natalie Portman is Audrey Hepburn.

Sunday: I’m starting to forget what I did yesterday. I definitely cooked breakfast, I do remember that. Took the dogs for a walk, packed stuff to sell on eBay, took out the trash. Karen made a fresh pasta sauce using our fresh onions and tomatoes…very good. Peter called around midday to suggest getting MarioKart for the Wii. And that’s what I did. A quick $200 at Best Buy* netted me a copy of the game, extra Wiimote (which I needed for a while), and a new router. My Wii had never connected to the internet before, and I tried everything short of replacing the router to make it happen. Well, I really wanted to play MarioKart online, so I decided to try a new router. I bought the AirPort Express…holy shit, why didn’t I do that sooner? My old router was kind of a pain to set up, and I was always having to reboot it or the cable modem when our laptops were turned on or off in a specific order. One of the two couldn’t handle the mac/pc combination. I’m once again thrilled to have paid a little more for the Apple product. Setting it up was so freaking easy and the network speed and signal strength increased noticeably. And it’s smaller and better looking. Can’t believe I didn’t buy it sooner. So I started playing MarioKart and finished off the pitcher of margaritas. Drunk driving is never okay…but it’s fucking hilarious when piloting a cartoon go-kart through a shopping mall while an angry donkey kong is throwing shells at you. Good times. Good weekend.

By the way, I wrote all this because I have three scripts to write today and I need to get my mind in the writing mood…and this actually does help.

*I asked the Best Buy games employee to recommend a wireless router that worked well with the Wii. He said the Wii doesn’t have wireless capability: I should buy a WLAN adapter. What?  So wrong.  C’mon. I’m not asking about some minute detail on one of the 65 different televisions sold there – I’m asking a core question about one of the THREE main game systems you deal with. Learn your product.

4 responses to “And though I’ll never forget your face, sometimes I can’t remember my own name.

  1. quick style my ass

  2. Ha. Not so quick, after all. I guess I’m just waaaayyyy too interesting of a person to get my whole weekend in one paragraph. Yep, that’s it.

  3. obviously

  4. breathlessmini

    “Drunk driving is never okay…but it’s fucking
    hilarious when piloting a cartoon go-kart through a shopping mall while an angry donkey kong is throwing shells at you.”

    I want to visit in one hour =)

Leave a Reply

