Fear, Religion, and the Gays.

I just don’t understand.  Why?  Why do all these conservative freaks get so worked up about gay marriage?  How does it possibly affect them?  It doesn’t invalidate your marriage, it doesn’t make you gay, it doesn’t do anything to you at all.  Are you just afraid of something you don’t understand, and feel that continually denying rights like marriage is just a way to keep a measure of “us vs them”.  If only you narrow-minded fucks could actually listen to your god and embrace the idea of loving humanity, rather than endlessly grouping and castigating those who are different.  To sum it up, you conservative bastards are what’s wrong with this country.

I have no doubt California will approve a gay marriage ban.

This brings up the larger point, is religion the biggest problem in this world?  I was initially inclined to say yes, wars of culture and even guns are started for religious reasons.  And while I would be oh-so-happy if the fundamentalist christian rodents would keep their asinine opinions to themselves, I don’t think religion is the root cause of all strife.

If tomorrow there were no religions, there would still be an endless river of power hungry people, eager to dominate and repress others, and amass land and wealth.  Today they frequently do so in the name of god, but if they all gave up that silly notion, they would simply find something else to justify their foul actions.

3 responses to “Fear, Religion, and the Gays.

  1. Like you, I have never understood the evangelical obsession with gay marriage. Well, all things gay really. It bothers me because it is not based on sound theology or biblical hermeneutics. But since when has being wrong ever stopped anyone? And after having been to Iraq, Afghanistan, and, even scarier, six months in New Jersey, I am convinced that human conflict over all manner of things, sacred and profane, is inevitable. The question becomes how to have that conflict in a way that is civilized and constructive.

    I think Hamas and the Isrealis should have a Twister tournament. Winner gets the West Bank.

  2. Well, you know, homosexuality is a choice. It leads to pedophilia and then to Armageddon. Logically. Live in fear! Hide thy little children!The gays are coming to get ya…

    I’m not sure what happened to “Love your neighbor as yourself”? Lost in translation? Or perhaps applies ONLY if your neighbor is a God-fearing heterosexual who mows the lawn regularly.

    The hypocrisy is mind-boggling… I’m an atheist who lives in Texas and by God, I fear saying so. As “I don’t remember who” said: “the Constitution guarantees freedom of religion, not absence thereof.” Maybe the ban on atheist marriage is coming next…

  3. When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

    When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

    When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

    When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

    When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.

Leave a Reply

