SAPCC #10 – Time

Time is a blessing and a curse.  Always running away, always being lost.  Yet we need to appreciate every tick on every clock, for they are numbered and rare.

I knew right away what my shot would be.  The agony of time.  Time to think.  Time to reflect on the mistakes I’ve made.  Time to consider the many things I lose because of such mistakes.  Time to wonder how life continues, how the sun keeps rising, and how time will continue for me.  Time alone in my head.  Time to embrace this moment, even when it rips me apart and leaves a gaping wound in my chest.  Time to heal.

crw_6793rsz

See the work of the others:

Russ

Conni

Pat

Chris

Smack

Next week’s theme is Depth.  Do with it what you will.

15 responses to “SAPCC #10 – Time

  1. Well, this simply takes my breath away. Truly. If beauty could fill the gaping wound in your chest, you’d be healed by this photo alone.

  2. Your post inspires a few thoughts:

    From the film Dangerous Liasons: “Agony is when your mind and your heart are at odds.”

    After hearing that, I remember thinking “what if you’re experiencing agony, but one of the opposing heart-mind positions isn’t well defined? Or worse, both?”

    Then I remembered I’d been there… frequently… even recently. Having no defined positions of heart or mind, suffering for lack of love or conviction. In a word, lost.

    For the lost, time brings consolation in the form of certainty. Given time, the heart and mind naturally establish positions by themselves. Like dreaming moments that just appear in sleep and stick with you into consciousness.

    Then resumes the problem of having opposing desires, which, compared to being lost, is much more palatable – at that point is just deciding which yields greater happiness. Nothing is worse than complete uncertainty.

    Ideally, heart and mind decide that their positions, though appearing different, are actually compatible.

  3. Good words, Chris. I’m not sure I could say that better.
    Unrelated, what are the specs of your shot?

  4. Pat – Thank you. That means a lot to me.
    Chris – I think “lost” is an apt description.
    Conni – ISO 400, 1/10, f8.

  5. Michael I really love this. I makes me want to hug the shit out of you and give you ice cream or something but its really excellent.

  6. The blackness looming behind you is oppressively heavy, like it’s pushing you out of the frame. I can feel it on my shoulders just looking at it. The full length gray shirt was a good choice as well – no color to represent anything at all. Head hung, partially out of the frame, facing window light but not looking out. Solitude. I can’t picture a better interpretation of the sense of being lost.

    Technically, very nice. Good exposure, appropriate natural color, composition serves the content well – it creates a massive undefined weight behind you and cuts off your face at just the right spot. I can tell it’s you, but the frame indicates that what’s there is not all of you, both literally and figuratively.

  7. On a limb here but… why do you explain your photograph? Isn’t the whole point of the exercise to let the image stand on its own and let people interpret it the way it “talks” to them? :-)

  8. Nat (avec H) – Because I’m a writer and I always associate words and images in my mind. If it will satisfy you purists, I can move my interpretation to be after the jump.

  9. I’m not going to lie, this makes me want to butt fuck you with a lemon.

    Not really, but I hope that made you laugh.

    This is going to sound deeply cheesy. but, the heart is really fucking tough and hard to really tear. I mean, have you ever tried to bite through one? Really difficult.
    This picture sprains my tear ducts. It’s heavy and resisting and surrendering. I don’t like the way it makes me feel inside, but maybe that’s why it’s so fucking good.

  10. also, if you move your words after the jump, i’m going to hack your account and post Prince William’s penis every day. Keep the words with the photo damn it

  11. Chris – It wasn’t a window.

    Smack – A lemon. Really? A lemon? And, no, I’ve not had much occasion to eat heart. I am glad the picture is unsettling. At least I’m bringing out something in the viewer for once.

  12. I often agree with Nathalie about not mucking up visual arts with a bunch of words (particularly of the profound-artist-statementy variety), but in the specific case of this photo, I do not. You have a talent for making the two mediums feed off each other, and this is a great example.

    On whether or not our weekly photo entries should have words with them, I’d say the option should lie with the blogger. This isn’t a real photo-purist crowd. Russ and I are probably the closest to that in description, but Conni has shown cool graphic design tendencies, Pat’s used mixed media, and everyone has exhibited talent as storytellers.

    It would be interesting to know, however, if the more literary of our contestants start composing their words before or after they take their photos.

  13. Thank you.

    I had a vague feeling of what I would write when I came up with the concept for the shot. I didn’t actually write anything until I selected the picture to be used.

  14. Personally, I think it’s the rare photograph that cannot be enjoyed more deeply (Ah, depth!) with words.

    Particularly, as in the case with this weekly assignment, when the focus is on the creative process and how we each week, ready or not, have to say, “Here it is. This is the best I can do or failing that, the best of what I did do. Did I capture it? Do you see it? Do you see me?”

    This is a profound thing–to become visible to one another not just as photographers but as human beings.

    And, when I find my tripod, watch out.

    And, oh yes, generally, I take the images first. Some months before, others minutes before, I find the words.

  15. I take the pictures first, but try to recall what I was thinking when taking them. It is often not until I begin to arrange the photos that a deeper epiphany sometimes hits me.

Leave a Reply

